My Favorite Things

So one time my awesome sister, who is a party-throwing extraordinaire, told me about a “Favorite Things” party she was hosting. I had never heard of it before but it’s basically like a grown-up version of show-and-tell. There are lots of ways to do it, but in the end you leave the party with a wealth of knowledge on various products that are your friends’ absolute faves. Best idea ever.

There are so many things her friends have brought like the best brush or the best cleaning spray or the best face wash, etc. Of course I can’t remember anything besides a candle from Target that smells amazing and is apparently an Anthropologie knock-off, but I don’t remember the name of it so I guess that doesn’t count. I’m useless! Good news is I have my own faves to share! Trust me, you need these three things in your life NOW.

You may ask yourself, “What makes her qualified to write such a post?” My answer: nothing. I am not a celebrity stylist or anything near that. I’m just your average mom with an eyelash obsession, frequently chapped lips and occasionally greasy hair.

So, on that note, let us begin my mini, “Favorite Things” blog party! Woo hoo!

faves2

1.Loreal Voluminous Mascara – I don’t care what you say. This is the best mascara ever invented. Ever. I am very OCD about my eyelashes, to the point where I separate them with an earring. (If any of my old college roommates are reading this right now, stop laughing at me!) I have tried many many mascaras out there and nothing compares. Don’t waste your money on expensive stuff when this is sold on Amazon for $5. If you don’t believe that this is truly the best, just ask Maskcara. She’s legit. And she swears by this magical tube of goodness too!

2. Aquaphor – once upon a time I got acne. Bad. Twice actually. And both times I took Acutane. Whether or not I should have taken Acutane is a conversation for another day, but let me just tell you, that stuff DRIES. YOU. OUT. My lips were so dry and peeled so much it was out of control. I couldn’t handle it. My dermatologist recommended Aquaphor and to this day I am literally addicted. Like sometimes I can’t sleep until I put it on. They sell little tubes of it, which are perfect for your purse, but to be honest I just keep a big ol’ tub of it with me at all times. No shame! This stuff works. The end.

3. Batiste Dry Shampoo – 3,000 reviews and almost 5 stars on Amazon tells you how good this is. When my hair was darker I would buy the brunette version and it was life-changing. I use the original now and think it works and smells great and I haven’t used anything that I like as much. Yay for only washing your hair a couple times a week and not looking like a greasy rat!

All right, that concludes my little par-tay. Please feel free to share your favorites with me! I’m always on the lookout for fabulous products that I can’t live without but just don’t know it yet. Don’t forget, sharing is caring! 😉

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Things

Leave a comment